Volta Home – Ve Deme Orphanage

orp1     DSCN1784     DSCN1783

The Volta Home – also known as Ve Deme Orphanage – is situated in Ve Deme in the Afadjato South constituency of the Volta Region. The facility was founded by pastor Issa Dan Annabi and his wife about 30 years ago. They came as missionaries to this poor and rural area and noticed the urgend support these people here needed in many social issues. They did not only take care of the orphans, they establish as well supportive aid for older people and the ones who need caring help. Meanwhile the son Emmanuel takes care of the organisation and the leading of the orphanage.

DSCN1793     DSCN1811     DSCN1799

At the moment there are 6 other assistants, educators and teacher who help the family to take care of the 56 children. The facility has no running water, no borewhole, the old water pump stopped working some time ago, enough food and a healthy nutrition isn´t guaranteed and there ist not enough budget to repair the beds or even buy matresses. The construction of another dorm for especially the girls is required since a while as well. But the children know how to do it themselves and created some toys and sport equipment. In the last years the kids took part at a few tournaments with other schools and won some prizes, Issa shows them proudly.

DSCN1791     DSCN1795     DSCN1782

Volta home is a private running istitution, pastor Issa Dan Annabi didn´t get any support from the state or the government since the founding. The only support they get is from some private philantrops from the United States, from Germany and Australia – which is definitly not enough to serve the several basic needs of the children and much less for the necessary equipment for an adequate education. The orphanage and the included school therefore are depending necessarily on volunteer workers, who support with the education, the supervicion and the day care. Many children could go to continuing schools and a blind girl even started her studies at the university. Supporter who have been there during the last years created allready some PR for the oprhanage. There is a website and there are some videos about the children online – You will find the link adress below.

DSCN1809     DSCN1797     DSCN1821

The orphanage is as well part of the network of our partner NGO ARDI (Advocacy for Rural Development International). The get contact information about ARDI in Ghana you can get here on their profile, below you can find information to get in contact with the orphanage directly. The facility provides accomodation for volunteers for the thime they want to stay. We had interview with “Daddy” Issa Dan Annabi and one with his son Emmanuel, you can listen to them here on the page. On a short documentary movie you can find a tour through the areal with a visit of the dorms and some conversations with the children. Interessted volunteers can find as well the viewing over the accomodation the video. A detailed Volta Home Foto-Album you can find on the ARDI Facebookpage.

CONTACT

  Adress: Volta Home Oprhanage, Ve Deme, Afadjato South Constituency, Volta Region  – Post Box 61 Ve Golokwati / VoltaRegion, Ghana

   Email:   annabiemmanuel@rocketmail.com

  Phone:  +233246779677  / +233209006621

fb_icon_325x325  Facebook:  https://www.facebook.com/voltahome/

  Short movie about the children from the year 2010, “making food” and “football game” ( Link1, Link2, Link3 )

  Website from private supporters from Australia: http://www.voltahome.org/home.html

Volta Home – Ve Deme Waisenhaus

orp1     DSCN1784     DSCN1783

Das Volta Home – auch bekannt als Ve Deme Waisenhaus – liegt in dem Verwaltungsbereich Afadjato South in der Volta Region. Die Einrichtung wurde von Pastor Issa Dan Annabi und seiner Frau vor fast 30 Jahren gegründet, sie kamen als Missionare in die arme und vom Zentrum abgelegene Gegend und sahen den Bedarf an Hilfe und Unterstützung in vielen sozialen Bereichen. Sie begannen sich nicht nur um die Waisenkinder zu kümmern, sondern etablierten auch eine Art Nachbarschaftshilfe für Alte Menschen und Pflegebedürftige. Mittlerweile hat der Sohn Emmanuel die Organisation und Leitung des Weisenhauses übernommen.

DSCN1793     DSCN1811     DSCN1799

Momentan kümmert sich die Familie gemeinsam mit sechs weiteren Helfern, Erziehern und Lehrern um 56 Waisenkinder. Die Einrichtung verfügt über kein fließendes Wasser oder Brunnenloch, die alte Wasserpumpe funktioniert schon lange nicht mehr, eine ausreichende Verpflegung und gesunde Ernährung ist nicht sicher gestellt und es besteht kein Budget, um die kaputten Betten auszutauschen oder überhaupt Matratzen zu kaufen. Der Bau einer weiteren Wohnhütte speziell für Mädchen ist ebenfalls seit geraumer Zeit überfällig. Die Kinder wissen sich aber gut zu helfen und bauen sich Spielgerätschaften selbst. Die Kinder haben in den letzten Jahren bei einigen sportlichen Wettkämpfen mit anderen Schulen bereits einige Preise gewonnen, die Issa stolz präsentiert.

DSCN1791     DSCN1795     DSCN1782

Es handelt sich hierbei um eine privat geführte Einrichtung, Pastor Issa Annabi hat seit der Gründung keinerlei Unterstützung durch das Land oder die Regierung erhalten. Den einzigen Support erhält Ve Deme von einigen Privatpersonen aus den Vereinigten Staaten, Deutschland und Australien, was bei Weitem nicht für die jeweiligen Grundbedrüfnisse der Kinder ausreicht, geschweige denn für die nötigen Mittel für einen angemessenen Unterricht. Das Waisenhaus und die darin enthaltene Schule ist daher ebenfalls stark auf freiwillige Helfer angewiesen, die in der Erziehung, der Aufsicht und dem Unterrichten mitwirken. Viele Kinder wurden bereits an weiterführenden Schulen aufgenommen und momentan hat sogar eine der blinden Mädchen ein Studium aufgenommen. Unterstützer, die die letzten Jahre Zeit dort verbracht hatten, haben bereits an der PR für die Einrichtung beigetragen und eine Webseite aufgebaut oder Videos über die Kinder ins Netz gestellt.

 DSCN1809     DSCN1797     DSCN1821

Das Weisenhaus ist ebenfalls im Netzwerk unserer Partner NGO ARDI (Advocacy for Rural Development International) vertreten. Eine Kontaktaufnahme mit ARDI vor Ort ist hier möglich, weiter unten sind die bestehenden Informationen, um mit der Einrichtung direkt in Kontakt zu treten. Das Waisenhaus stellt freiwilligen Helfern Räume als Übernachtungmöglichkeiten zur Verfügung. Wir haben Interviews mit dem “Daddy” Issa Annabi und seinem Sohn Emmanuel geführt, die hier angehört werden können. Eine Führung durch die kleine Anlage mit Besichtigung der Räume und Gesprächen mit einigen der Kinder, steht in einem Kurzfilm bereit. Interessierte Entwicklungshelfer finden hier auch die zur Verfügung gestellten Räumlichkeiten. Ein ausführlicheres Fotoalbum findet sich hier im Volta Home Foto-Album auf der ARDI Facebookseite.

KONTAKT

  Adresse: Volta Home Oprhanage, Ve Deme, Afadjato South Constituency, Volta Region  – Post Box 61 Ve Golokwati / VoltaRegion, Ghana

   Email:   annabiemmanuel@rocketmail.com

  Telefon:   Phone:  +233246779677  / +233209006621

fb_icon_325x325  Facebook:  https://www.facebook.com/voltahome/

  Kurzfilm über die Waisenkinder aus dem Jahr 2010, Essenszubereitung und Fußballspiel ( Link1, Link2, Link3 )

  Webseite von privaten Unterstützern aus Australia: http://www.voltahome.org/home.html