Two teachers on their way to Ghana – Carlo Mierendorff to Mawuku

December 17, 2019 in Ghana, HITA Radio, Partner, Projekte by guenther_michels

pr2

The teachers Petra Knott and Rachida Aouad from the Carlo-Mierendorff-Schule in Frankfurt will make their way to the school on the 27th of April. December together with HITA again on the trip to Ghana. During this second visit the cooperation agreement between the two schools is signed with the Mawuku School in the Volta Region. During their first stay in April 2019, the two teachers visited various local schools with HITA in order to select a partner institution. They got to know teachers and students, but also the country and its people, taught themselves, were able to develop ideas for projects together with the other teachers and fell in love with the fantastic Ghanaian food. After difficult and close considerations, the choice for the partner school finally went to the Mawuku Girls Senior High School. A teacher exchange is planned for 2020 and Skype lessons between the pupils in Ghana and Germany are to be created. The intercultural exchange between the students supports political and social science education, but also geography, history and above all the direct practical use of the English language. At the same time the students get to know each other’s culture and society and practice communication.

p8

The project started two years ago with lectures of HITA Chairman Thomas Erkert in the school classes. The pupils were immediately motivated, had creative ideas and have so far organised various donation projects and action days by themselves with help of their teachers. At the moment there is again a donation of toys for pupils in Ghana in the second HITA container on the way to the Ghanaian capital and harbour Accra, but money could also be collected by the pupils with flea markets and cake sales.

p3

HITA is laying the foundations so that the pupils in Ghana can communicate with the pupils in Frankfurt. Our NGO installs the conditions for the use of the new technical possibilities, establishes computer labs and Internet or Intranet connections. In an interview Petra Knott and Rachida Aouad talk about their first experiences in Ghana, the projects and the upcoming plans for the upcoming trip.

a1

p5

Rachida Aouad and Petra Knott during their school visits in April 2019.

a2

The four pupils “sacrificed” themselves for the project. For a small price you could buy water bombs and throw them at the brave targets.

p7

The Frankfurt teachers taught the students something in Ghana, as a thank you the students then taught Rachida and Petra a Ghanaian dance.

a3

On one of the action days the students even produced a “Ghana Cake” with glaze in flag colours.

Zwei Lehrerinnen auf dem Weg nach Ghana – Carlo Mierendorff to Mawuku

Dezember 17, 2019 in Ghana, HITA Radio, Partner, Projekte von guenther_michels

pr2

Die Lehrerinnen Petra Knott und Rachida Aouad von der Frankfurter Carlo-Mierendorff-Schule machen sich am 27. Dezember gemeinsam mit HITA wieder auf die Reise nach Ghana. Bei diesem zweiten Besuch wird mit der Mawuku Schule in der Volta Region der Kooperationsvertrag zwischen beiden Schulen unterschrieben. Während eines ersten Aufenthalts im April 2019 besuchten die zwei Lehrerinnen bereits mit HITA verschiedene Schule vor Ort, um eine Partnerinstitution auszuwählen. Dabei lernten sie Lehrer und Schüler, aber auch Land und Leute kennen, unterrichteten selbst, konnten gemeinsam mit den anderen Lehrkräften Ideen zu Projekten entwickeln und haben sich in das fantastische ghanaische Essen verliebt. Nach schwierigen und engen Abwägungen ging die Wahl für die Partnerschule schließlich an die Mawuku Girls’ Senior High School. Für 2020 ist ein Lehrer-Austausch geplant und Skype Stunden zwischen den Schülern in Ghana und Deutschland sollen entstehen. Der interkulturelle Austausch zwischen den Schülern unterstützt die politische und sozialwissenschaftliche Bildung, aber auch Geographie, Geschichte und vor allem die direkte praktische Nutzung der englischen Sprache. Gleichzeitig lernen die Schüler die Kultur und Gesellschaft des jeweils anderen kennen und üben sich in Kommunikation.

p8

Vor zwei Jahren startete das Projekt mit Vorträgen von HITA Vorsitzendem Thomas Erkert in den Schulklassen. Die Schüler waren sogleich motiviert, hatten kreative Mitmach-Ideen und gestalteten bisher verschiedene eigene Spendenprojekte und Aktionstage. Momentan ist wieder eine Spende an Spielsachen für ghanaische Schüler in dem zweiten HITA Container nach Accra unterwegs, es konnte aber auch mit Flohmärkten und Kuchenverkäufen Geld gesammelt werden.

p3

Damit die Schüler in Ghana mit den Schülern in Frankfurt kommunizieren können, dazu legt HITA die Grundsteine. Unsere NGO installiert die Voraussetzungen für die Nutzung der neuen technischen Möglichkeiten, baut Computer Labs und Internet- oder Intranet-Verbindungen auf. In jeweils einem Interview erzählen Petra Knott und Rachida Aouad von ihren ersten Erfahrungen in Ghana, den Projekten und den anstehenden Planungen für die kommende Reise.

a1

The students of the Carlo-Mierendorff-Schule collected money for the students in Ghana by selling flea markets on Acton Day this year.

p5

Rachida Aouad und Petra Knott bei ihren Schulbesuchen im April 2019.

a2

Die Jungs haben sich quasi für das Projekt “geopfert”. Für einen kleinen Preis konnte man sich Wasserbomben kaufen und auf die tapferen Zielscheiben werfen.

p7

Die Frankfurter Lehrerinnen brachten den Schülerinnen in Ghana was bei, als Dankeschön brachten die Schülerinnen dann Rachida und Petra einen ghanaischen Tanz bei.

a3

An einem der Aktionstage wurde von den Schülern für den Kuchstand sogar eine “Ghana-Torte” mit Glasur in Fahnen-Farben fabriziert.