Interview with Professor Kirstin Kohler – University of Mannheim / inno.space

July 22, 2020 in HITA Radio, Partner, Projekte by guenther_michels

Co-innovation by students of the University of Mannheim with the non-profit organization HITA e. V. in the context of Digital Health – A win-win situation for the participants

Digital innovation is often driven by technical issues. This is also reflected in the curricula of the corresponding courses of study such as computer science or communications engineering. However, developments in recent years have clearly shown that software systems can have a major impact on societal changes and that their design must be considered in a socio-cultural context in order to assess their sustainable significance. Note, for example. the impact of social media or recent discussions about using a Corona app as a prominent representative of digital innovation. Universities therefore have to consider teaching concepts that sensitize students to their social responsibility and enable them to design technology from a social, social or social perspective. to operate from a human-centred perspective. Successful digital innovation can only emerge if user-centricity and technical progress are in harmony and integrated into the cultural context.

hsma_logo_b

In the User Centered Innovation course, 8 students of the Master’s program Software Engineering at the Mannheim University of Applied Sciences in cooperation with HITA e. V. demonstrated how it can be possible to jointly create added value for a non-profit institution and at the same time to develop the above-mentioned competencies within the framework of a course. HITA e. V. is a non-profit non-governmental organisation whose vision is to contribute to the optimisation of health systems in Africa through eHealth and mHealth technologies. During the project-based course, the students worked out a solution to a challenge from everyday life at HITA over a period of 15 weeks. Right at the beginning of the project, HITA confronted the students with the following question: “How can digital innovation support clinical management and the organisation of a local community clinic in Ghana?” This question was motivated by the experiences of the two HITA representatives Thomas Erkert and Daniel Gerlach, who have extensive background knowledge of the Ghanaian health system through their voluntary work.

logo_innospace

The university pursues a user-centric innovation approach, in which creative methods, prototyping and user interviews are applied, for example according to the Design Thinking methodology. The students work with so-called “assignments. ” These are weekly tasks, with which the students gradually learn methods to work on the complex question that is presented to them. The question initially leads to uncertainty among students, as it is much more open than the questions of other course formats. The associated degrees of freedom of the solution space are unusual and overwhelming at first. Under the methodical guidance of the supervising teacher, the students explored the problem area in the first weeks. This included exploring the specifics and processes of the Ghanaian health system and understanding the country’s social framework. This illustrated to the students the large differences in terms of hygiene, bed capacity, treatment methods, procedures and the establishment of the medical centers compared to their own health system. Based on these insights, different personas were created that document the findings on the target group and their daily challenges (in this case, midwives, nurses and patients were considered). The example of the nurse is shown in the figure below.

ma4

With regard to the target groups, the students were then asked to devise and roughly outline different solutions based on their comprehensive knowledge of digital technology. The work took place in small groups and initially led to more than 40 different ideas. From these, the students developed five ideas for so-called low-fidelity prototypes. These are preliminary stages of the product, which are created from simple materials such as paper and cardboard in a short time. The ideas are not first implemented in code, but in concept presentations, which serve only for communication and discussion. The two most promising concepts were selected from the very different concepts in dialogue with the HITA representatives. In the following weeks, the students developed these into clickable demonstrators on the target device through several iterations. Repeated methods were used, which illuminated the quality of the elaboration from different perspectives (e. g. User Experience, Feasibility, Costs).

handy3Throughout the course, the HITA experts were in dialogue with the students with a great deal of dedication in order to answer questions about Ghana or to provide feedback on the concept ideas. Through the intensive study of the Ghanaian context, the students were able to experience how closely the use of an application in a concrete context is interwoven with its design and implementation. The highlight of the course was a guided user test with the Ghanaian hospital, in which the students had the chance to guide various representatives of a clinic in Ghana through their digital solution during a one-hour video conference, in order to explore their acceptance and to accept concerns. This was possible mainly because the HITA representatives were able to organise the video conference on site during their trip to Ghana. To the pride of all those involved, the feedback from potential users was extremely positive and provided additional, valuable impulses. The official conclusion of the project was a comprehensive presentation of the overall result by the students in front of Thomas Erkert and Daniel Gerlach from HITA e. V. on the university campus.

ma3

The cooperation with HITA e. From the point of view of the supervising professor, V. was a great asset for teaching. It provided students with a learning experience in which they had to reflect on the consequences of their technological decisions in a social context. In this way, the students were able to become aware of their responsibility, but also of their creative possibilities. At the same time, they were sensitized to the realities of a different culture and society, which is characterized by far more limitations than their own reality of life.

03_Videoconference

The course took place at inno. space (https://inno-space.de), the creative and makerspace of Mannheim University of Applied Sciences, which is part of the global Design Factory Global network (https://dfgn.org). There, students work exclusively on real issues in a creative learning environment based on the principle of action-based learning. In contrast to the cooperation with HITA e. V. many other inno. space projects deal with the challenges of companies and are thus strongly influenced by economic interests. By working with a non-profit company such as HITA e. V. succeeds in putting sustainability and the common good more into the focus of a course. This is a task that universities, as institutions with social responsibility, are increasingly fulfilling. All in all, the project was a happy win-win situation, which rarely arises and hopefully finds a repetition from the point of view of the Mannheim University of Applied Sciences.

In an informative interview in English, Professor Kirstin Kohler reports on the origin and development of the project. Also in discussion is Daniel Gerlach from HITA:

University of Mannheim

Prof. Kirstin Kohler - Coordinator inno.space – Design Factory Mannheim – Professorship for User Experience Design

Email: k.kohler@hs-mannheim.de – Website: www.inno-space.de

Health Care Information Technologies for Africa e.V. (HITA e.V.)

Thomas ErkertChariman of HITA e.V. – thomas.erkert@hita-ev.org

Daniel Gerlach – Expert on the board of HITA e.V. – daniel.gerlach@hita-ev.org

Podcast about the project: https://hearthis.at/hita-radio/erkert-gerlach-15-06-2020/

Article about the videoconference: https://www.hita-ev.org/?p=4149

Co-innovation by students of the University of Mannheim with the non-profit organization HITA e. V. in the context of Digital Health – A win-win situation for the participants

Interview mit Professorin Kirstin Kohler – Hochschule Mannheim / inno.space

Juli 22, 2020 in HITA Radio, Partner, Projekte von guenther_michels

Co-Innovation von Studierenden der Hochschule Mannheim mit der Non-Profit-Organisation HITA e.V. im Kontext Digital Health – Eine Win-Win-Situation für die Beteiligten

Digitale Innovation wird häufig von technischen Fragestellungen getrieben. Dies spiegelt sich auch in den Curricula der entsprechenden Studiengänge wie Informatik oder Nachrichtentechnik. Doch die Entwicklungen der letzten Jahre haben deutlich gezeigt, dass Softwaresysteme große Auswirkungen auf gesellschaftliche Veränderungen haben können und ihre Gestaltung im soziokulturellen Kontext betrachtet werden muss, um deren nachhaltige Bedeutung abschätzen zu können. Man beachte bspw. die Wirkung von sozialen Medien oder die jüngsten Diskussionen zur Verwendung einer Corona App als prominente Vertreterin digitaler Innovationen. Hochschulen müssen sich also Lehrkonzepte überlegen, die die Studierenden für ihre soziale Verantwortung sensibilisieren und sie befähigen, Technikgestaltung von einer sozialen, gesellschaftlichen bzw. menschzentrierten Perspektive aus zu betreiben. Denn erfolgreiche digitale Innovation kann nur entstehen, wenn Nutzerzentriertheit und technischer Fortschritt im Einklang stehen und im kulturellen Kontext eingebunden sind.

hsma_logo_b

Im Kurs User Centered Innovation haben 8 Studierende des Masterstudiengangs Software Engineering der Hochschule Mannheim in Zusammenarbeit mit HITA e.V. gezeigt, wie es gelingen kann, gemeinsam einen Mehrwert für eine gemeinnützige Institution zu schaffen und gleichzeitig die oben beschriebenen Kompetenzen im Rahmen eines Kurses zu entwickeln. HITA e.V. ist eine gemeinnützig tätige Nichtregierungsorganisation, deren Vision es ist, mithilfe von eHealth- und mHealth-Technologien zur Optimierung von Gesundheitssystemen in Afrika beizutragen. Während des projektbasierten Kurses haben die Studierenden über einen Zeitraum von 15 Wochen eine Lösung zu einer Herausforderung aus dem Alltag der HITA erarbeitet. Gleich zu Beginn des Projektes hat HITA die Studierenden mit folgender Frage konfrontiert: „Wie kann durch digitale Innovation das klinische Management und die Organisation einer lokalen Gemeindeklinik in Ghana unterstützt werden?“ Motiviert war diese Fragestellung durch die Erfahrungen der beiden HITA-Vertreter Thomas Erkert und Daniel Gerlach, die durch ihre ehrenamtliche Arbeit über umfassendes Hintergrundwissen zum ghanaischen Gesundheitssystem verfügen.

logo_innospace

Die Hochschule verfolgt einen Ansatz der nutzerzentrierten Innovation, in dem Kreativmethoden, Prototyping und Nutzerinterviews angewendet werden, zum Beispiel nach der Design Thinking-Methodik. Dabei arbeiten die Studierenden mit sogenannten „Assignments“. Dies sind wöchentliche Aufgabenstellungen, mit denen die Studierenden schrittweise Methoden erlernen, um die komplexe Fragestellung zu bearbeiten, die an sie herangetragen wird. Die Fragestellung führt zunächst bei den Studierenden zu einer Unsicherheit, da sie wesentlich offener ist als die Fragestellungen anderer Kursformate. Die damit einhergehenden Freiheitsgrade des Lösungsraums sind ungewohnt und überfordern zunächst. Unter methodischer Anleitung der betreuenden Lehrkraft fand in den ersten Wochen die Exploration des Problemraums durch die Studierenden statt. Dazu gehörte es, Besonderheiten und Abläufe des ghanaischen Gesundheitssystems zu erkunden und die gesellschaftlichen Rahmenbedingungen des Landes zu verstehen. Dies hat den Studierenden die großen Unterschiede in Bezug auf Hygiene, Bettenkapazitäten, Behandlungsmethoden, Abläufe und Einrichtung der medizinischen Zentren im Vergleich zum eigenen Gesundheitssystem verdeutlicht. Basierend auf diesen Einsichten wurden verschiedene Personas erstellt, die die Erkenntnisse zur Zielgruppe und ihren täglichen Herausforderungen dokumentieren (in diesem Fall wurden Hebamme, Krankenschwester und Patient betrachtet). Das Beispiel der Krankenschwester ist in der Abbildung unten dargestellt.

ma4

Mit Blick auf die Zielgruppen waren die Studierenden dann gefordert, aufbauend auf ihrer umfassenden Kenntnis digitaler Technologie verschiedene Lösungen zu erdenken und diese grob zu skizzieren. Die Arbeit fand in Kleingruppen statt und hat zunächst zu mehr als 40 verschiedenen Ideen geführt. Aus diesen haben die Studierenden fünf Ideen zu sogenannten Low-Fidelity Prototypen weiterentwickelt. Dabei handelt es sich um Vorstufen des Produktes, die aus einfachen Materialen wie Papier und Pappe in kurzer Zeit erstellt werden. Die Ideen werden also zunächst nicht in Code umgesetzt, sondern in Konzeptrepräsentationen, die lediglich der Kommunikation und Diskussion dienen. Aus den sehr unterschiedlichen Konzeptideen wurden im Dialog mit den HITA-Vertretern die zwei vielversprechendsten ausgewählt. In den folgenden Wochen haben die Studierenden diese durch mehrere Iterationen zu clickbaren Demonstratoren auf dem Zielgerät ausgearbeitet. Es kamen wiederholte Methoden zum Einsatz, die die Güte der Ausarbeitung von verschiedenen Perspektiven aus beleuchteten (bspw. User Experience, Machbarkeit, Kosten).

handy3

Während des gesamten Kurses standen die HITA-Experten mit viel Einsatzbereitschaft im Dialog mit den Studierenden, um Fragen zu Ghana zu beantworten oder Rückmeldung zu den Konzeptideen zu geben. Die Studierenden konnten durch die intensive Beschäftigung mit dem ghanaischen Kontext erleben, wie eng der Einsatz einer Anwendung im konkreten Kontext mit deren Ausgestaltung und Implementierung verwoben ist. Das Highlight des Kurses war ein geführter Nutzertest mit dem ghanaischen Krankenhaus, in dem die Studierenden im Rahmen einer einstündigen Videokonferenz die Chance hatten, verschiedene Vertreter einer Klinik in Ghana durch ihre digitale Lösung zu führen, um deren Akzeptanz zu erkunden und Bedenken entgegenzunehmen. Dies war vor allem deshalb möglich, weil die HITA-Vertreter im Rahmen ihrer Reise nach Ghana die Videokonferenz vor Ort organisieren konnten. Zum Stolz aller Beteiligten waren die Rückmeldungen der potentiellen Nutzer überaus positiv und gaben ergänzende, wertvolle Impulse. Den offiziellen Abschluss des Projektes bildete schließlich eine umfassende Präsentation des Gesamtergebnisses durch die Studierenden vor Thomas Erkert und Daniel Gerlach von HITA e.V. auf dem Hochschul-Campus.

ma3

Die Kooperation mit der HITA e.V. war aus Sicht der betreuenden Professorin ein großer Gewinn für die Lehre. Sie hat den Studierenden ein Lernerlebnis ermöglicht, in dem sie die Folgen ihrer Technikentscheidungen in einem gesellschaftlichen Kontext reflektieren mussten. Auf diese Weise konnten die Studierenden sich ihrer Verantwortung, aber auch ihrer kreativen Möglichkeiten, bewusst werden. Gleichzeitig wurden sie für die Gegebenheiten einer anderen Kultur und Gesellschaft sensibilisiert, die von weit mehr Einschränkungen geprägt ist als die eigene Lebenswirklichkeit.

03_Videoconference

Der Kurs fand im inno.space (https://inno-space.de) statt, dem Kreativ- und Makerspace der Hochschule Mannheim, die Teil des weltweiten Design Factory Global Netzwerkes (https://dfgn.org) ist. Dort arbeiten Studierende nach dem Prinzip des Action-Based-Learnings in kreativer Lernumgebung ausschließlich an realen Fragestellungen. Im Gegensatz zur Kooperation mit HITA e.V. beschäftigen sich viele weitere inno.space-Projekte mit Herausforderungen von Firmen und sind damit stark von wirtschaftlichen Interessen geprägt. Durch die Zusammenarbeit mit einem Non-Profit-Unternehmen wie HITA e.V. gelingt es, die Nachhaltigkeit und das Allgemeinwohl stärker in den Fokus eines Kurses zu rücken. Eine Aufgabe, die die Hochschulen, als Einrichtungen mit gesellschaftlicher Verantwortung, zunehmend wahrnehmen. Alles in allem war das Projekt eine glückliche Win-Win-Situation, wie sie sich nur selten ergibt und aus Sicht der Hochschule Mannheim hoffentlich eine Wiederholung findet.

In einem aufschlussreichen Interview berichtet Professorin Kirstin Kohler von der Entstehung und Entwicklung des Projektes. Mit im Gespräch ist außerdem Daniel Gerlach von HITA:

Hochschule Mannheim

Prof. Kirstin Kohler - Koordinatorin inno.space – Design Factory Mannheim – Professur für User Experience Design

Email: k.kohler@hs-mannheim.de  -   Webseite: www.inno-space.de

Health Care Information Technologies for Africa e.V. (HITA e.V.)

Thomas ErkertVereinsvorsitzender von HITA e.V. – thomas.erkert@hita-ev.org

Daniel Gerlach – Experte im Vorstand von HITA e.V. – daniel.gerlach@hita-ev.org

Podcast zum Projekt: https://hearthis.at/hita-radio/erkert-gerlach-15-06-2020/

Artikel zur Videokonferenz: https://www.hita-ev.org/?p=4149