Dreams Alive Foundation

(The NGO is in in the course of incorporation) – Jacob Sedemor is an passionate activist from Adaklu in the Volta Region and founder of the Dreams Alive Foundation. He is the gender equality specialist at Adaklu Helekpe. He organizes meetings and group session, discussion rounds and simple, understandable and informative education. Through knowledge and understanding, he tries to improve the life situations in the Volta region and Ghana.

Ghana_GrowDeam_Logo1

Ghana_DreamAlive3

Jacob: “In the groups we try educate women and their male partners on their various roles and we try to making men understand who they are, but not what society says they are”.

IMG-20190528-WA0006

On the picture above Jacob is faciliating an activity on how to plan for the own family. Standing with the members in the squares should represent the ressources which are provided for the family and to make it visually more clear how the base has to be to make it work.

IMG-20190528-WA0004

Ghana_DreamAlive4

In a skype interview he told us about his project and gives a passionate insight of how you can help with eduction and knowledge. This recording is from June 2019, below there is another interview from November 2019::

IMG-20190528-WA0003

On the photos below you can see Gaba Linuz and Jacob Sedemor from Dream Alive in action and having a speech with a group. On June 5th they organized a meeting with 60 men at Waya, the Adaklu district capital with the topic how to prevent gender based violence and effects of gender based violence against women and children. In Ghana gender based violence is an important issue which needs serious attention. It is also a sensitive topic, therefore the information givers from Dream Alive need to approach it from the community level. It has affected women,children and is marginalised in the communities. So the Dream Alive Foundation has given the step to educated and sensitise some of the community members to understand and generate discussion about how to curb its effects.

Ghana_DreamAlive6b

Ghana_DreamAlive7b

IMG-20190729-WA0002

bb3

IMG-20190726-WA0002

dd2

cc2

10_19b

Donation of school books for children in the region

IMG-20191003-WA0000

Meeting with Mother Support Group at Dawanu

At this reporting period some of mother Support and daddies groups leaders are been train as Gender Equality Champions at the community level to lead the crusade against Gender based violence and child abuse The period is been use also to visit some VSLAs groups formed in these communities to enhance their social and financial status

IMG-20191003-WA0001

Interacting with some children while a visit at Adaklu Dawanu

On 3rd of November we had another podcast with Jacob Sedemor from the Dreams Alive Foundation which is operating with educational help and supporting information in the Adaklu District in the Volta Region. We spoke about the vision and mission of the NGO which are:

1. Targeting of the eradication of teenage pregnancy

2. Increase gender responsiveness among community members with male and female

3. Education on HIV and STI

4. Securing the health of women and children during pregnancy with ANC



UPDATE 11th AUGUST 2020

Donation of protection masks to pupils from the the Helekpe Junior High School and the staff:

IMG-20200811-WA0006

IMG-20200811-WA0009

IMG-20200811-WA0008


KONTAKT: Jacob Sedemor – Telefon: +233 24 505 9016 – Email: sedemorahiave@gmail.com

bbh

Grow Your Dream Foundation

Jacob Sedemor ist ein leidenschaftlicher Aktivist aus Adaklu in der Region Volta und Gründer der Grow Your Dream Foundation. Jacob ist der Gleichstellungsspezialist bei Adaklu Helekpe. Er organisiert Informationsveranstaltungen, Workshops und Diskussionsrunden mit einfach verständlicher und informativen Inhalten. Durch Bildung und Aufklärung versucht er die Lebenssituationen in der Volta Region und Ghana zu verbessern.

Ghana_GrowDeam_Logo1

Ghana_DreamAlive3

Jacob: “In den Gruppen versuchen wir, Frauen und ihre männlichen Partner über ihre verschiedenen Rollen aufzuklären, und wir versuchen auch, Männern verständlich zu machen, wer sie sind. Aber dies ist nicht das, was die Gesellschaft ihnen vorschreibt zu sein.”

IMG-20190528-WA0006

Auf dem Bild oben führt Jacob eine Übung mit einer Gruppe durch. Es geht um die symbolische Darstellung vom Zusammenhang der Faktoren Familie und notwendige Bedürfnisse. Die Teilnehmer stehen auf gezeichneten Quadern, die die Ressourcen dargestellen, die die Familienmitglieder benötigen. Dies soll visuell klarer verdeutlichen, wie eine passende Basis sein muss, damit das Ganze funktioniert.

IMG-20190528-WA0004

Ghana_DreamAlive4

In einem Skype-Interview erzählte er uns von seinem Projekt und gab einen aufschlussreichen Einblick, wie man mit Bildung und Wissen helfen kann. Diese Aufnahme ist vom Juni 2019, weiter unten folgt ein weiteres Interview vom November 2019:

IMG-20190528-WA0003

Auf den folgenden Fotos sieht man Gaba Linuz und Jacob Sedemor von Grow Your Dream in Aktion bei einem Informationsvortrag vor einer Gruppe. Am 5. Juni organisierten sie ein Treffen mit 60 Männern in Waya, der Hauptstadt des Distrikts Adaklu, mit dem Thema geschlechtsspezifische Gewalt, die Auswirkungen davon und wie geschlechtsspezifische Gewalt gegen Frauen und Kinder verhindert werden kann. In Ghana ist geschlechtsspezifische Gewalt ein wichtiges Thema, das ernsthafte Aufmerksamkeit erfordert. Es ist außerdem ein sensibles Thema, daher müssen sich die Informationsgeber von Dream Alive auf der Community-Ebene an die Bürger wenden. Die Gewalt betrifft Frauen und Kinder und wird in den Gemeinden kaum behandelt, verschwiegen und verdrängt. Daher hat die Grow Your Dream Foundation den Schritt getan, einige Mitglieder der Community zu sensibilisieren, um zu verstehen und Diskussionen über die Eindämmung der Auswirkungen von Gewalt anzuregen.

Ghana_DreamAlive6b

Ghana_DreamAlive7b

IMG-20190729-WA0002

bb3

IMG-20190726-WA0002

dd2

cc2

10_19b

Übergabe von gespendeten Schulbüchern an Kinder in der Adaklu Region

IMG-20191003-WA0000

Treffen mit der “Mother Support Group” (Mutter-Selbsthilfegruppe) von Dawanu

In dieser Berichtsperiode wurden einige der Leiter von Mother Support- und Daddies-Gruppen als Gleichstellungs-Champions auf Gemeindeebene ausgebildet, um die Bewegung gegen geschlechtsspezifische Gewalt und Kindesmissbrauch zu führen und um den sozialen und finanziellen Status verbessern zu können.

IMG-20191003-WA0001

Die Kinder bei einem Besuch in Adaklu Dawanu. Rechts im Bild ist Jacob Sedemor.

Am 3. November hatten wir einen weiteren Podcast mit Jacob Sedemor von der Dreams Alive Foundation, die mit praktischen Hilfen, mit pädagogischer Informierungen  und unterstützender Aufklärung im Adaklu-Distrikt in der Volta-Region tätig sind. Wir sprachen über die Projekte der letzten Wochen, die aktuelle Entwicklung und die Vision der NGO. Missionsziele sind:

1. Vermeidung von Schwangerschaft im Teenageralter

2. Förderung der Gleichberechtigung der Geschlechter in den Communities

3. Aufklärung über HIV und STI

4. Sicherung der Gesundheit von Frauen und Kindern während der Schwangerschaft mit ANC



UPDATE 11th AUGUST 2020

Spenden von Atemschutzmasken an die Schüler der Helekpe Junior High School und die dortigen Angestellten:

IMG-20200811-WA0006

IMG-20200811-WA0009

IMG-20200811-WA0008


KONTAKT: Jacob Sedemor – Telefon: +233 24 505 9016 – Email: sedemorahiave@gmail.com

bbh