German ASA participants on the way to Ghana

Katharina Abel,  Manuela Bauer, Sarah Lauren Harris and Franziska Manthey, our four ASA volunteers, are travelling today to Ghana to do their project work there the next three months. Franziska and Manuela stay the first two weeks in Accra to do an internship at Korle Bu University Hospital. Franzsiska as a midwife in the Midwifery ward and Manuela as a nurse in the emergency/surgery ward. After that, they are going to Tepa and will stay there for 4 weeks. From there on they should go for about one week to Kintampo to meet Sarah and Katharina there and from there on to other schools. The last two weeks, they should then be back in Tepa again. They will work together with Afua and Sandra, their midwives colleagues, with whom they already worked together in Germany.

Sarah Lauren Harris and Katharina Abel are our experts for the Kintampo Rural Health Training School. They are both experts in E-Learning and will develop E-Learning modules based on the needs of teachers and students at Kintampo. They are both also interested in mental issues. This was one reason to place them in Kintampo. Their task is to develop teaching modules and to test them in different school environments – again in rural and more urban areas. Sarah wants to write her thesis in Public Health and for her parctical study year she will even stay for another 4-6 month in Ghana after she has finished the internship and will work together with HITA on projects.

Before the 4 project participants left for the journey they gave an interview to. You can listen to the  streams on our audioplatform HITA Radio.

Leaving of the Ghanaian Midwives

On Tuesday 15th the two Ghanaian midwives Afua Sarpong and Sandra Opuku left Germany on the airport in Frankfurt after the three month exchange programm. The first part of the HITA program is finished now. It´s called the “Nordphase” (=northperiod). In the second part, called the “Südphase ” (=southperiod) the midwive Franziska Manthey and the nurse Manuela Bauer will go to Ghana for three month to work with their Ghanaian colleagues on the development of the e-learning-platform and as well to learn and experience how the work is going on there in Ghana. On our audioplattform on Soundcloud we will upload final interviews we took with the midwives before they left.

Deutsche ASA Teilnehmerinnen auf dem Weg nach Ghana

Katharina Abel,  Manuela Bauer, Sarah Lauren Harris und Franziska Manthey unsere vier ASA-Stipendiatinnen reisen heute nach Ghana, um dort die nächsten 3 Monate an ihren Projekten zu arbeiten.

Franziska und Manuela werden die ersten zwei Wochen in der Hauptstadt Accra stationiert sein, um ein Praktikum an dem Universitätskrankenhaus Korle Bu zu absolvieren. Franziska ist eine ausgebildete Hebammen und Manuela eine ausgebildete Krankenschwester. Danach gehen beide nach Tepa im Nordwesten und werden dort 4 Wochen bleiben. Nach dieser Phase steht Kintampo auf dem Plan, wo die zwei auf Sarah and Katharina treffen werden und von dort aus verschiedene Schulen besuchen werden. Die letzten zwei Wochen des Austauschprogramms finden wieder in Tepa statt. In Ghana werden Franziska und Manuela wieder mit den Hebammen Afua Sarpong und Sandra Opoku, die in der Nordphase in Deutschland waren, zusammenarbeiten.

Sarah Lauren Harris und Katharina Abel sind unsere Experten für die Kintampo Rural Health Training School. Sie sind beide Expertinnen im E-Learning und werden E-Learning-Unterrichtsmodule basierend auf die Anforderungen und Bedürfnisse der Lehrer und Schüler in Kintampo entwickeln. Sie sind beide am Feld psychische Störungen interessiert und sind daher auch an der Einrichtung in Kintampo stationiert, die die entsprechenden Schwerpunkte gesetzt hat. Ihre Aufgabe ist es verschiede Unterrichtseinheiten zu entwickeln und diese in verschiedenen Schulumgebungen zu testen. Hierzu zählen auch die verschiedenen Voraussetzungen in ländlichen Regionen sowie in städtischen Gegenden. Sarah strebt ihre Master Thesis im Gesundheitswesen an und wird für ihr praktisches Studienjahr weitere 4 – 6 Monate in Ghana bleiben, nachdem sie das Praktikum beendet hat und mit HITA korespondieren.

Bevor die 4 Projektteilnehmerinnen ihre Reise antraten gaben Sie noch ein Interview. Die Streams findet ihr hier auf unserer Audioplattform HITA Radio.

Abreise der Ghanaischen Hebammen

Am Dienstag, 15 Juli verliesen die zwei ghanaischen Hebammen Afua Sarpong und Sandra Opuku nach dem dreimonatigen Austauschprogramm Deutschland am Frankfurter Flughafen. Der erste Teil – die Nordphase – des HITA-Hebammenprojektes ist somit beendet. In dem zweiten Projektteil – der Südphase – werden die Hebamme Franziska Manthey und die Krankenschwester Manuela Bauer für drei Monate nach Ghana reisen und dort mit den beiden ghanaischen Kolleginnen am Aufbau der E-Learning-Plattform weiter arbeiten und die Arbeit in Ghana vor Ort kennen lernen. Auf unserer Audioplattform bei Soundcloud werden Abschlussinterviews ins Netz gestellt.